• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
Hollow City

Hollow City

(Book #2 in the Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children series)

$14.99$20.00

Book Overview: Hollow City

The #1 New York Times best-selling series.

Like its predecessor, this second novel in the Peculiar Children series blends thrilling fantasy with vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.

September 3, 1940. Ten peculiar children flee an army of deadly monsters. And only one person can help them--but she's trapped in the body of a bird. The extraordinary journey that began in Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. There, they hope to find a cure for their beloved headmistress, Miss Peregrine. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. And before Jacob can deliver the peculiar children to safety, he must make an important decision about his love for Emma Bloom.

Read More
ISBN-13Array
ISBN-10Array
PublisherArray
Publication DateArray
EditionArray
LanguageArray
PagesArray
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs

"I was blown away... Hollow City is fantastic."-- USAToday.com

"A worthy follow-up, and as addictive a read as the first."-- Hypable

" Hollow City mixes spooky vintage photos and action-packed storytelling to continue the story of Jacob Portman and his fellow "peculiars" as they travel through time to war-torn London."--Dan Kois, Slate

"A perfect blend of creepiness and thoughtfulness."-- PopMatters

"A stunning achievement... Hollow City is even richer than Riggs's imaginative debut, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children."-- Boston Globe

"What makes the series soar, however, is not the world-building, as intriguing as it is, but the heartfelt intensity of the emotions."-- Virginian-Pilot

"Ideal for fans of Neil Gaiman and Daniel Kraus, Hollow City blends fantasy and horror into a world that will engross readers and leave them eager for more."-- Shelf Awareness for Readers

"A tasty adventure for any reader with an appetite for the...peculiar."-- Kirkus Reviews

"New readers of the series will find this novel a treat...Fans of the first title will find this book a treasure. The only downside: waiting for the third installment to find out what happens to Jacob and his peculiar friends."-- School Library Journal

"Riggs has created a fresh and original world in these Peregrine novels, with likable, quirky characters and a very readable style."-- Library Journal Xpress Review

Ransom Riggs is a renowned American author and filmmaker renowned globally for his bestselling series, "Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children." Born in Maryland in 1980, Riggs grew up with an insatiable appetite for literature and storytelling that would ultimately shape his career. He graduated from Kenyon College with a degree in English literature and later received an MFA in film production from the prestigious University of Southern California. Riggs' interest in vintage photographs and urban exploration played a significant role in his inventive writing style, demonstrated by the vivid, fantastical, and peculiar universes he conjures. His debut novel, "Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children," was an immediate success, reaching The New York Times bestseller list and later adapting into a successful film directed by Tim Burton. Today, Ransom Riggs continues to mesmerize his readers with his unique blend of the surreal and the familiar, drawing on the magic in the everyday to create compelling narratives. The enduring appeal of his work has solidified his reputation as a master of imaginative fiction, making him a definitive staple in contemporary literature. Riggs currently resides in Los Angeles, California, with his wife, fellow author Tahereh Mafi, living an epicurean life filled with creativity, adventure, and bookish wonders.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Hollow City”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *