• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
Howl's Moving Castle

Howl's Moving Castle

(Book #1 in the World of Howl series)


Book Overview: Howl's Moving Castle

This entrancing classic fantasy novel is filled with surprises at every turn. An international bestseller, this much-loved book is the source for the Academy Award nominee for Best Animated Feature.

Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to fail miserably should she ever leave home to seek her fate. But when she unwittingly attracts the ire of the Witch of the Waste, Sophie finds herself under a horrid spell that transforms her into an old lady. Her only chance at breaking it lies in the ever-moving castle in the hills: the Wizard Howl's castle.

To untangle the enchantment, Sophie must handle the heartless Howl, strike a bargain with a fire demon, and meet the Witch of the Waste head-on. Along the way, she discovers that there's far more to Howl--and herself--than first meets the eye.

In this giant jigsaw puzzle of a fantasy, people and things are never quite what they seem. Destinies are intertwined, identities exchanged, lovers confused. The Witch has placed a spell on Howl. Does the clue to breaking it lie in a famous poem? And what will happen to Sophie Hatter when she enters Howl's castle?

All fans of classic fantasy books deserve the pleasure of reading those by Diana Wynne Jones, whose acclaim included the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement. As Neil Gaiman stated, she was "quite simply the best writer for children of her generation."

The three books in the World of Howl are:

Howl's Moving CastleCastle in the AirHouse of Many Ways

Other beloved series from Dianna Wynne Jones include the Chronicles of Chrestomanci and the Dalemark Quartet.

Read More
Publication DateArray
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs
Diana Wynne Jones was an eminent British author, renowned for her contribution to fantasy novel for young adults and children. Born on August 16, 1934, in London, Diana's writing career was strongly influenced by her childhood experiences during World War II. Striking a harmonious balance between reality and fantasy, Diana wove narratives that opened infinite portals of imagination for her readers. Her array of work extends over four decades, including more than fifty novels, several plays and a labyrinthine collection of short stories. Some of her most notable works include "Howl's Moving Castle," "Charmed Life," and the series of "Chrestomanci," all of which were lauded for their whimsicality, wit and peculiar perspective towards magic and myth. Diana's enchanting creativity in everyday situations and profundity of character development were widely recognized. She won several awards including the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award and the prestigious Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. Her novel "Howl's Moving Castle" was also adapted into an acclaimed animated film of the same name by Studio Ghibli. Despite no longer being with us since March 26, 2011, Diana Wynne Jones continues to inspire with her magical words. Her work transcends through time and appeals to children and adults alike. With her storytelling, which boasts both depth and creativity, she has left an everlasting mark on the landscape of children's literature. Diana Wynne Jones's legacy remains alive through her rich imagination that still resonates, shapes, and enlightens the minds of young readers today.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Howl's Moving Castle”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *