• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
Judgment Prey

Judgment Prey

(Book #33 in the Prey series)


Book Overview: Judgment Prey

Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers team up to crack an unsolvable case in this thrilling new novel by #1 New York Times bestselling author John Sandford.

Alex Sand was spending the evening at home playing basketball with his two young sons when all three were shot in cold blood. A wealthy federal judge, there's no short list of people who could have a vendetta against Sands, but the gruesome murders, especially that of his children, turn their St. Paul community on its head. Sand was on the verge of a major donation to a local housing charity, Heart/Twin Cities, and with the money in limbo, eyes suddenly turn to his grieving widow, Margaret Cooper, to see what she might do with the money. Margaret, distraught over the death of her family, struggles to move forward, and can't imagine how or why anyone would target her husband.

With public pressure mounting and both the local police force and FBI hitting dead end after dead end, Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers are called in to do what others could not: find answers. With each potential lead flawed, Davenport and Flowers are determined to chase every theory until they figure out who killed the Sands. But when they find themselves being stonewalled by the most unlikely of forces, the two wonder if perhaps each misdirection could lead them closer to the truth.

Read More
PublisherG.P. Putnam's Sons
Publication DateOctober 3rd, 2023
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs
John Sandford, a renowned American novelist and Pulitzer Prize winner, has captivated readers worldwide with his intense, gripping thrillers. Born as John Camp in Cedar Rapids, Iowa in 1944, Sandford worked for years as a respected journalist before transitioning to fiction. Throughout his illustrious career in journalism, in which he reported for The Miami Herald and The Saint Paul Pioneer Press, he was recognized for his adept investigative skills, his poignant writing style, and his ability to tell a compelling story. These skills served as the foundation for his later success as an author of crime novels. As one of the literary world's most esteemed crime writers, Sandford is best known for his "Prey" series, featuring the protagonist Lucas Davenport. Debuted in 1989 with "Rules of Prey," the series has expanded to over thirty books and counting. His other notable series, the "Virgil Flowers" series and the "Kidd" series, are as popular for their thrilling narratives as they are for their complex, relatable characters. Despite his foray into the world of fiction, Sandford's career has retained elements of his journalistic roots. His novels are teeming with sharp, accurate descriptions, evidencing his knack for meticulous research and his commitment to authenticity. In a career spanning over three decades, John Sandford has proven to be a master storyteller, combining the pacing and suspense of crime thrillers with the depth and character development of literary fiction.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Judgment Prey”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *