• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
Gardens of the Moon

Gardens of the Moon

(Book #1 in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series)


Book Overview: Gardens of the Moon

Vast legions of gods, mages, humans, dragons and all manner of creatures play out the fate of the Malazan Empire in this first book in a major epic fantasy series from Steven Erikson.

The Malazan Empire simmers with discontent, bled dry by interminable warfare, bitter infighting and bloody confrontations with the formidable Anomander Rake and his Tiste Andii, ancient and implacable sorcerers. Even the imperial legions, long inured to the bloodshed, yearn for some respite. Yet Empress Laseen's rule remains absolute, enforced by her dread Claw assassins.

For Sergeant Whiskeyjack and his squad of Bridgeburners, and for Tattersail, surviving cadre mage of the Second Legion, the aftermath of the siege of Pale should have been a time to mourn the many dead. But Darujhistan, last of the Free Cities of Genabackis, yet holds out. It is to this ancient citadel that Laseen turns her predatory gaze.

However, it would appear that the Empire is not alone in this great game. Sinister, shadowbound forces are gathering as the gods themselves prepare to play their hand...

Conceived and written on a panoramic scale, Gardens of the Moon is epic fantasy of the highest order--an enthralling adventure by an outstanding new voice.

Read More
Publication DateArray
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs

"Erikson is an extraordinary writer. My advice to anyone who might listen to me is, Treat yourself to Gardens of the Moon. And my entirely selfish advice to Steven Erikson is, write faster." --Stephen R. Donaldson

"I stand slack-jawed in awe of The Malazan Book of the Fallen. This masterwork of imagination may be the high water mark of epic fantasy. This marathon of ambition has a depth and breadth and sense of vast reaches of inimical time unlike anything else available today. The Black Company, Zelazny's Amber, Vance's Dying Earth, and other mighty drumbeats are but foreshadowings of this dark dragon's hoard." -- Glen Cook

Steven Erikson, widely recognized as a master of modern high fantasy, was born in Toronto, Canada, but now resides in Cornwall, UK. A New York Times bestselling author, Erikson is best-known for his extraordinary ten-part series, The Malazan Book of the Fallen. His dynamic storytelling style, steeped in richly complex world-building and memorable characters, have cemented his status as a household name in the world of epic fantasy. Prior to his writing career, Erikson dabbled in a series of eclectic professions, including time spent as an anthropologist and archaeologist, as evident in several aspects of his literary works. A graduate of the prestigious Iowa Writers’ Workshop, he also boasts substantial expertise in creative writing, which sparked his journey onto the path of storytelling, culminating in his revered literary feats. Beyond The Malazan Book of the Fallen series, Erikson has also penned several novellas and short stories. Throughout his career, he has received several notable accolades for his work, such as the David Gemmell Legend Award. His profound skill for blending complexity with profound themes and imaginative plotlines continue to inspire and captivate audiences worldwide. This, coupled with his compelling narrative style, cements Steven Erikson's enduring legacy in the ever-evolving landscape of fantasy literature.

Related Subjects


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Gardens of the Moon”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *