• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
Girl in Pieces

Girl in Pieces

$10.99

Book Overview: Girl in Pieces

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

" A haunting, beautiful, and necessary book." --Nicola Yoon , #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she's already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she's learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don't have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie's heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.

A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing, and has taken so much, and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow's debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It's a story you won't be able to look away from.

And don't miss Kathleen Glasgow's novels You'd Be Home Now and How to Make Friends with the Dark, both raw and powerful stories of life.

Read More
ISBN-13Array
ISBN-10Array
PublisherArray
Publication DateArray
EditionArray
LanguageArray
PagesArray
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs

A New York Times Bestseller
An Amelia Bloomer Project Award Selection
A New York Public Library Best Book for Teens

" Girl, Interrupted meets Speak."-- Refinery29

"A dark yet powerful read."-- Paste Magazine

"One of the most affecting novels we have read."--Goop

" Breathtaking and beautifully written."--Bustle

" Intimate and gritty."-- The Irish Times

" A haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page." --Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything

" Equal parts keen-eyed empathy, stark candor, and terrible beauty. This book is why we read stories to experience what it's like to survive the unsurvivable; to find light in the darkest night."-Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King

" Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance. . . . An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience."--Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned

" A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing . . . I want every girl to read Girl In Pieces."-Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners and The Cheerleaders

" A Girl, Interrupted for a new generation....The story of the mad girl is ultimately a story about being a girl in a mad world, how it breaks us into pieces and how we glue ourselves back together."--Melissa Febos, author of Whip Smart and Abandon Me

" Dark, frank, and tender, Girl in Pieces keeps the reader electrified for its entire journey. You're so uncertain if Charlie will heal, so fully immerse d in hoping she does."--Michelle Wildgen, author of Bread and Butter and You're Not You

" Girl in Pieces has the breath of life; every character in it is fully alive. Charlie Davis' complexities are drawn with great understanding and subtlety."-Charles Baxter, author of National Book Award finalist The Feast of Love

"Charlie Davis has been damaged and abused after several years of living on the streets, but she is fiercely resilient. Though it will appeal to readers of Ellen Foster, Speak, and Girl, Interrupted, Girl in Pieces is an entirely original work, compulsively readable and deeply human."-Julie Schumacher, author the New York Times bestseller Dear Committee Members

★ " In Glasgow's riveting debut novel, readers are pulled close to Charlie's raw, authentic emotions as she strains to make a jagged path through her new life. Love and trust prove difficult, and Charlie's judgment is not well honed, but her will to survive is glorious." --Booklist, Starred review

★ "[Readers] will find themselves driven to see Charlie's story through. They will better understand a world that often makes no sense to outsiders. Glasgow's debut novel is a dark read, but the engaging writing will win an audience for [Glasgow]."- VOYA, Starred review

" Heartbreaking and thick with emotion, ...[ Girl in Pieces is] for avid fans of Jennifer Niven's All the Bright Places or Susanna Kaysen's Girl Interrupted."- SLJ

Kathleen Glasgow is an acclaimed American author known for her evocative and heartfelt young adult novels. Her debut novel, "Girl in Pieces", has received wide recognition and attracted numerous accolades. This author has an exceptional ability to craft characters and narratives that resonate with a wide range of readers, particularly teenagers, dealing with topical issues like mental health, self-harm, and recovery. Prior to becoming a full-time writer, Glasgow worked in the field of social work. This experience, coupled with her life battles, informs much of her writing, lending it a depth of authenticity and emotional honesty.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Girl in Pieces”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *