• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
The History of Middle-earth Box Set #3: The Return of the Shadow / The Treason of Isengard / The War of the Ring / Sauron Defeated
Available August 13, 2024

The History of Middle-earth Box Set #3: The Return of the Shadow / The Treason of Isengard / The War of the Ring / Sauron Defeated

(Part of the History of Middle-Earth series)


Book Overview: The History of Middle-earth Box Set #3: The Return of the Shadow / The Treason of Isengard / The War of the Ring / Sauron Defeated

Third in a series of hardcover box sets celebrating the literary achievement of Christopher Tolkien, featuring double-sided dust jackets--one side featuring artwork by John Howe, and the original graphic treatment on the other. Set 3 contains The Return of the ShadowThe Treason of IsengardThe War of the Ring, and Sauron Defeated (Books 6-9 of The History of Middle-earth).

The Return of the Shadow is the story of the first part of the history of the creation of The Lord of the Rings, a fascinating study of Tolkien's great masterpiece, from its inception to the end of the first volume, The Fellowship of the Ring.

The Treason of Isengard continues the account of the creation of The Lord of the Rings started in the earlier volume, tracing the great expansion of the tale into new lands and peoples south and east of the Misty Mountains: the emergence of Lothlorien, of Ents, of the Riders of Rohan, and of Saruman the White in the fortress of Isengard.

The War of the Ring takes up the story with the Battle of Helm's Deep and the drowning of Isengard by the Ents; continues with the journey of Frodo, Sam, and Gollum to the Pass of Cirith Ungol; describes the war in Gondor; and ends with the parley between Gandalf and the ambassador of the Dark Lord before the Black Gate of Mordor.

Sauron Defeated completes Christopher Tolkien's fascinating study of The Lord of the Rings, beginning with Sam's rescue of Frodo from the Tower of Cirith Ungol, and giving a very different account of the Scouring of the Shire, with many additional scenes and the unpublished Epilogue in its entirety.

Published together for the first time, these four books collect a fascinating period of Christopher Tolkien's forty-year career devoted to presenting his father J.R.R. Tolkien's writings on Middle-earth, a unique accomplishment that celebrates the greatest invented world in all of fantasy literature.

Read More
PublisherWilliam Morrow
Publication Date2024
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs
Christopher Tolkien, born in 1924, was an acclaimed British editor and scholar, best known as the son of legendary author J.R.R. Tolkien. He played a pivotal role in preserving and structuring his father's remarkable body of work, making an indelible mark on the world of fantasy literature. With an impressive academic background, Christopher was a lecturer in Old English and Middle English language at Oxford University. Simultaneously, he served as his father's literary executive. He brilliantly edited and published numerous posthumous works such as ‘The Silmarillion’ and ‘The History of Middle Earth.’ His remarkable contribution to the field of literature ensured that his father's fantasy realm was eternally engraved in the minds of readers. Christopher Tolkien passed away in 2020, leaving behind an unmistakable literary legacy.
John Ronald Reuel Tolkien, known universally as J.R.R. Tolkien, was a definitive figure in 20th-century literature, molding the fantasy genre with his legendary Middle-Earth tales. Born in South Africa in 1892 and later relocating to England, Tolkien's scholarly proficiency in languages led to a respected career in academia at Oxford University, where he specialized in English language and literature. However, it was his exceptional prowess as a writer and creator of intricate, richly detailed imaginary worlds that most indelibly marked his name in the annals of literary history. Tolkien's iconic works, most notably "The Hobbit" (1937) and "The Lord of the Rings" trilogy (1954-1955), have captivated and inspired millions. These works, profoundly influenced by Tolkien's linguistic proficiency, interest in mythology, and experiences in World War I, feature a meticulous construction of character, setting, and language. They burst with a rich tapestry of high fantasy populated by hobbits, elves, wizards, and dark lords, creating a mythical universe beloved by countless readers. Despite passing away in 1973, Tolkien's literary legacy endures. His timeless tales remain instrumental in shaping fantasy literature, influencing a multitude of authors in the genre. Immortalized in myriad adaptations, including blockbuster movies, his fantastical worlds continue to stir the imagination of enthusiasts all over the globe, making J.R.R. Tolkien a truly incomparable figure in the literary world.

More Books by J. R. R. Tolkien


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The History of Middle-earth Box Set #3: The Return of the Shadow / The Treason of Isengard / The War of the Ring / Sauron Defeated”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *