• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
An Echo of Things to Come

An Echo of Things to Come

(Book #2 in The Licanius Trilogy series)

$21.99

Book Overview: An Echo of Things to Come

Davian has won a victory for the Augurs, but treachery surrounds him and his allies on all sides in the second book of the acclaimed Licanus Trilogy, in which "fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire." (The Guardian)

Following a devastating attack, an amnesty has been declared for all Augurs -- finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against the land of Andarra.

The Augur Davian and his new allies hurry north toward the ever-weakening Boundary, but fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.

The new Northwarden, his ally in the Capital, contends with assassins and politicians and uncovers a dangerous secret. Meanwhile, their compatriot Asha begins a secret investigation into the disappearance of the Shadows.

And Caeden races against time to fulfill a treacherous bargain, but as more and more of his memories return, he begins to realize that the two sides in this ancient war may not be as clear-cut as they first seemed. . .

Read More
ISBN-13
ISBN-10
Publisher
Publication Date
Edition
Language
Pages
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs

"Islington's magic-soaked setting has plenty of opportunities for conflict between competing powers even as earth-shattering evil approaches. Epic fantasy fans will enjoy this dense, suspenseful adventure. "-- Publishers Weekly on An Echo of Things to Come

"Reminiscent of Robert Jordan or Brandon Sanderson, Islington's writing is refreshingly fast paced, with a light and clever touch."-- Booklist on An Echo of Things to Come

"Fans of this genre will find themselves immersed in the magical battles, suspense and backstabbing political intrigue."-- RT Book Reviews on An Echo of Things to Come

"Islington's natural storytelling ability provides incessant plot twists and maintains a relentless pace...A promising page-turner from a poised newcomer who's well worth keeping tabs on."-- Kirkus on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Islington has built a world with all the right genre elements: complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters whose motivations are seldom clear. Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed."-- Publishers Weekly on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series."-- B&N SF & Fantasy Blog on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire."-- Guardian on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"The plot twists are unexpected, the world building is fascinating, and the fledgling love story is a charmer.... This sweeping and compelling epic is ripe for a sequel."-- Booklist on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"The Shadow of What was Lost is an engrossing fantasy debut.... The twisting and complex storylines, fascinating characters and inventive magic make for a fun read packed with plenty of mystery."-- Book Reporter

James Islington is a renowned Australian fantasy author, globally recognized for his epic series 'The Licanius Trilogy.' Born in southern England before moving to Australia in his early childhood, Islington spent his formative years engrossed in fantasy novels of Tolkien, Raymond E. Feist, and Brandon Sanderson. This early immersion inspired his passion for storytelling and honed his illustrious skills in world-building, drawing readers into his rich, imaginative realms. Islington's debut novel, "The Shadow of What Was Lost," published in 2014, launched the highly successful Licanius Trilogy. Propelled by intricate plots with impeccable pacing, dynamic characters, and deeply layered epic narratives, Islington rendered a world bound to ensnare fantasy lovers worldwide. His fiction encapsulates his mastery in merging complex moral issues with grandly scaled fantasies, truly establishing him as an influential presence in the fantasy genre. In addition to his remarkable story weaving skills, Islington is noted for his reader-friendly approach, incorporating comprehensive summaries at the beginning of sequels to help combat reader confusion. This innovative practice endorses his commitment to his vast and loyal reader base. Living now in Victoria, Australia, with his wife and two daughters, James Islington continues to captivate world audiences with his fantastic narratives, leaving an indelible imprint on the fantasy literature landscape.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “An Echo of Things to Come”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *