• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
The Shadow of What Was Lost

The Shadow of What Was Lost

(Book #1 in The Licanius Trilogy series)


Book Overview: The Shadow of What Was Lost

A young man with forbidden magic finds himself drawn into an ancient war against a dangerous enemy in book one of the Licanius Trilogy, the series that fans are heralding as the next Wheel of Time.

As destiny calls, a journey begins.

It has been twenty years since the godlike Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them -- the Gifted -- are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their powers.

As a Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he and his friends Wirr and Asha set into motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is. . .

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated begins to stir.

The Licanius Trilogy is a series readers will have a hard time putting down -- a relentless coming-of-age epic from the very first page.

"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire."" -- Guardian

Read More
Publication DateArray
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs

The plot twists are unexpected, the world building is fascinating, and the fledgling love story is a charmer.... This sweeping and compelling epic is ripe for a sequel.-- Booklist on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Ingeniously plotted...Islington's natural storytelling ability provides incessant plot twists and maintains a relentless pace...A promising page-turner from a poised newcomer."-- Kirkus on The Shadow of What as Lost

"Islington has built a world with all the right genre elements: complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters whose motivations are seldom clear. Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed."-- Publishers Weekly on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series."-- B&N SF & Fantasy Blog on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire."-- Guardian on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong world building."-- Fantasy Faction on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Action aplenty and an ample spattering of violence...this is a whole new world with a fresh fantasy streak."-- SciFiNow on The Shadow of What Was Lost

"A relentless juggernaut of a book . . . Astoundingly intricate worldbuilding."-- The Daily Mail on The Shadow of What Was Lost

James Islington is a renowned Australian fantasy author, globally recognized for his epic series 'The Licanius Trilogy.' Born in southern England before moving to Australia in his early childhood, Islington spent his formative years engrossed in fantasy novels of Tolkien, Raymond E. Feist, and Brandon Sanderson. This early immersion inspired his passion for storytelling and honed his illustrious skills in world-building, drawing readers into his rich, imaginative realms. Islington's debut novel, "The Shadow of What Was Lost," published in 2014, launched the highly successful Licanius Trilogy. Propelled by intricate plots with impeccable pacing, dynamic characters, and deeply layered epic narratives, Islington rendered a world bound to ensnare fantasy lovers worldwide. His fiction encapsulates his mastery in merging complex moral issues with grandly scaled fantasies, truly establishing him as an influential presence in the fantasy genre. In addition to his remarkable story weaving skills, Islington is noted for his reader-friendly approach, incorporating comprehensive summaries at the beginning of sequels to help combat reader confusion. This innovative practice endorses his commitment to his vast and loyal reader base. Living now in Victoria, Australia, with his wife and two daughters, James Islington continues to captivate world audiences with his fantastic narratives, leaving an indelible imprint on the fantasy literature landscape.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Shadow of What Was Lost”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *