• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
Once Upon a Time: The Captivating Life of Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy

Once Upon a Time: The Captivating Life of Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy

$29.99

Book Overview: Once Upon a Time: The Captivating Life of Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy

The life and legacy of Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy, wife of John F. Kennedy Jr., are reexamined in this captivating and effervescent biography that is perfect for fans of My Travels with Mrs. KennedyWhat Remains, and Fairy Tale Interrupted.

A quarter of a century after the plane crash that claimed the lives of John F. Kennedy Jr., his wife Carolyn, and her sister Lauren, the magnitude of this tragedy remains fresh. Yet, Carolyn is still an enigmatic figure, a woman whose short life in the spotlight was besieged with misogyny and cruelty.

Amidst today's cultural reckoning about the way our media treats women, Elizabeth Beller explores the real person behind the tabloid headlines and media frenzy. When she began dating America's prince, Carolyn was increasingly thrust into an overwhelming spotlight filled with relentless paparazzi who reacted to her reserve with a campaign of harassment and vilification.

To this day, she is still depicted as a privileged princess--icy, vapid, and drug-addicted. She has even been accused of being responsible for their untimely death, allegedly delaying take-off until she finished her pedicure. But now, she is revealed as never before.

A fiercely independent woman devoted to her adopted city and career, Carolyn relied on her impeccable eye and drive to fly up the ranks at Calvin Klein in the glossy, high-stakes fashion world of the 1990s. When Carolyn met her future husband, John was immediately drawn to her strong-willed personality, effortless charm, and high intelligence. Their relationship would change her life and catapult her to dizzying fame, but it was her vibrant life before their marriage and then hidden afterwards, that is truly fascinating.

Based on in-depth research and exclusive interviews with friends, family members, teachers, roommates, and colleagues, and featuring never-before-seen family photos, this comprehensive biography reveals a multi-faceted woman worthy of our attention regardless of her husband and untimely death.

Read More
ISBN-139781982178963
ISBN-101982178965
PublisherGallery Books
Publication Date2024
Edition1
Languageen
Pages336
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs
Elizabeth Beller is a respected contemporary author specializing in historical fiction and romance. She brilliantly blends her detailed understanding of world history with vivid, emotional storytelling to engage her readers. Beller's writing style is characterized by her unique take on human dynamics and relationships set against the backdrop of significant historical events. Her novels, praised for their profound depth and accuracy, echo her passion for history and romance, making her a beloved figure among fans and literary critics alike. As a successful author with numerous awards to her credit, Elizabeth Beller has cemented her place in the canon of contemporary historical fiction. She continues to captivate her audience with riveting characters and stories, serving as an inspiration to emerging writers around the world.

You May Also Like

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Once Upon a Time: The Captivating Life of Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *