• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
Lyndon B. Johnson: The American Presidents Series: The 36th President, 1963-1969

Lyndon B. Johnson: The American Presidents Series: The 36th President, 1963-1969

(Book #36 in the American Presidents series)


Book Overview: Lyndon B. Johnson: The American Presidents Series: The 36th President, 1963-1969

The towering figure who sought to transform America into a "Great Society" but whose ambitions and presidency collapsed in the tragedy of the Vietnam War: Lyndon B. Johnson.

Few figures in American history are as compelling and complex as Lyndon Baines Johnson, who established himself as the master of the U.S. Senate in the 1950s and succeeded John F. Kennedy in the White House after Kennedy's assassination on November 22, 1963.

Charles Peters, a keen observer of Washington politics for more than five decades, tells the story of Johnson's presidency as the tale of an immensely talented politician driven by ambition and desire. As part of the Kennedy-Johnson administration from 1961 to 1968, Peters knew key players, including Johnson's aides, giving him inside knowledge of the legislative wizardry that led to historic triumphs like the Voting Rights Act and the personal insecurities that led to the tragedy of Vietnam.

Peters's experiences have given him unique insight into the poisonous rivalry between Johnson and Robert F. Kennedy, showing how their misunderstanding of each other exacerbated Johnson's self-doubt and led him into the morass of Vietnam, which crippled his presidency and finally drove this larger-than-life man from the office that was his lifelong ambition.

Read More
PublisherTimes Books
Publication Date2010-06-08
EditionFirst Edition
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs
Charles Peters is a highly respected author and academic recognized for his engaging narratives and in-depth research. An alumnus of Harvard University, Peters has a sterling reputation for his intuitive understanding of various subject matters, enriching the literary landscape with his rich perspectives. Prolific in both fiction and non-fiction, Peters seamlessly traverses through diverse genres such as science fiction, history, and biographical work. His multi-faceted storytelling ability has earned him numerous accolades and a wide readership. His critically acclaimed novels, notable for their profundity and creativity, have consolidated his status as a versatile and pioneering author. Beyond his writing, Peters is an ardent advocate for literary advancement, often providing mentorship to budding authors. His dedication to fostering literary talent and his commitment to his craft make him not only a successful and influential author but also a laudable figure in the literary world.

More Books in the American Presidents Series

More Books in the Former US Presidents Collection

You May Also Like


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Lyndon B. Johnson: The American Presidents Series: The 36th President, 1963-1969”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *