• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
James A. Garfield: The American Presidents Series: The 20th President, 1881

James A. Garfield: The American Presidents Series: The 20th President, 1881

(Book #20 in the American Presidents series)


Book Overview: James A. Garfield: The American Presidents Series: The 20th President, 1881

The ambitious self-made man who reached the pinnacle of American politics--only to be felled by an assassin's bullet and to die at the hands of his doctors: James A. Garfield.

James A. Garfield was one of the Republican Party's leading lights in the years following the Civil War. Born in a log cabin, he rose to become a college president, Union Army general, and congressman--all by the age of thirty-two. Embodying the strive-and-succeed spirit that captured the imagination of Americans in his time, he was elected president in 1880. It is no surprise that one of his biographers was Horatio Alger.

Garfield's term in office, however, was cut tragically short. Just four months into his presidency, a would-be assassin approached Garfield at the Washington, D.C., railroad station and fired a single shot into his back. Garfield's bad luck was to have his fate placed in the care of arrogant physicians who did not accept the new theory of antisepsis. Probing the wound with unwashed and occasionally manure-laden hands, Garfield's doctors introduced terrible infections and brought about his death two months later.

Ira Rutkow, a surgeon and historian, offers an insightful portrait of Garfield and an unsparing narrative of the medical crisis that defined and destroyed his presidency. For all his youthful ambition, the only mark Garfield would make on the office would be one of wasted promise.

Read More
PublisherTimes Books
Publication Date2006-05-30
EditionFirst Edition
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs
Ira Rutkow is a highly respected author, widely appreciated for his vibrant historical narratives on American medical history. A trained surgeon possessing a Doctor of Medicine and Masters of Public Health, Rutkow masterfully amalgamates his medical acumen with superb storytelling, giving readers thought-provoking insights into the complex healthcare industry. Captivating readers with his distinct style, he is best-known for his critically acclaimed books like "Surgery: An Illustrated History," which earned him the prestigious Metcalf Prize. His other notable works include "American Surgery," "Bleeding Blue and Gray," and "Empire of the Scalpel," attesting to his diverse knowledge in medical history. In addition to authoring, Rutkow also serves as Professor of Surgery at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey. His rich blend of practical experience, academic wisdom, and literate craftsmanship makes him a notable presence, inspiring readers and medical students alike.

More Books in the American Presidents Series

More Books in the Former US Presidents Collection


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “James A. Garfield: The American Presidents Series: The 20th President, 1881”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *