• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
Ronald Reagan: The American Presidents Series: The 40th President, 1981-1989

Ronald Reagan: The American Presidents Series: The 40th President, 1981-1989

(Book #40 in the American Presidents series)


Book Overview: Ronald Reagan: The American Presidents Series: The 40th President, 1981-1989

The conservative icon who reshaped American politics and laid the groundwork for the end of the Cold War: Ronald Reagan.

In the second half of the twentieth century, no American president defined his political era as did Ronald Reagan. He ushered in an age that extolled smaller government, tax cuts, and strong defense, and to this day politicians of both political parties operate within the parameters of the world he made. His eight years in office from 1981 to 1989 were a time of economic crisis and recovery, a new American assertiveness abroad, and an engagement with the Soviet Union that began in conflict but moved in surprising new directions.

Jacob Weisberg provides a bracing portrait of America's fortieth president and the ideas that animated his political career, offering a fresh psychological interpretation and showing that there was more to Reagan than the usual stereotypes. Reagan, he observes, was a staunch conservative but was also unafraid to compromise and cut deals where necessary. And Reagan espoused a firm belief, just as firm as his belief in small government and strong defense, that nuclear weapons were immoral and ought to be eliminated. Weisberg argues that these facets of Reagan were too often ignored in his time but reveal why his presidency turned out to be so consequential.

In the years since Reagan left office, he has been cast in marble by the Republican Party and dismissed by the Democrats. Weisberg shows why we need to move past these responses if we wish truly to appreciate his accomplishments and his legacy.

Read More
PublisherTimes Books
Publication Date2016-01-05
EditionFirst edition.
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs
Jacob Weisberg, an esteemed American journalist and author, has spent a significant part of his career enriching the field of political journalism. He was the editor-in-chief of the Slate Group, a unit of The Washington Post Company and his dedication towards journalism has led to his regular contributions to various esteemed publications, including Newsweek and Vanity Fair. A Yale Law School graduate, Weisberg's expertise effortlessly merges law and journalism, further enhancing his work. Jacob Weisberg's undying passion for politics and law motivated him to pen several successful books that shed light on various aspects of American politics. The series named "Bushisms", is one of his best works, highlighting the malapropisms of President George W. Bush. His other commendable works include books on Ronald Reagan and Bob Dylan. Known for his analysis and objectivity, Weisberg has become a prominent figure in journalism. He has been conferred with several awards acknowledging his significant contribution to journalism and to the political discourse. His insightful writing has not only informed audiences but also stirred compelling discussions. Weisberg exemplifies the power of the pen in shaping dialogue, ideation, and understanding of important issues.

More Books in the American Presidents Series

More Books in the Former US Presidents Collection

You May Also Like


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Ronald Reagan: The American Presidents Series: The 40th President, 1981-1989”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *