• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
Abraham Lincoln: The American Presidents Series: The 16th President, 1861-1865

Abraham Lincoln: The American Presidents Series: The 16th President, 1861-1865

(Book #16 in the American Presidents series)


Book Overview: Abraham Lincoln: The American Presidents Series: The 16th President, 1861-1865

America's greatest president, who rose to power in the country's greatest hour of need and whose vision saw the United States through the Civil War: Abraham Lincoln.

Abraham Lincoln towers above the others who have held the office of president--the icon of greatness, the pillar of strength whose words bound up the nation's wounds. His presidency is the hinge on which American history pivots, the time when the young republic collapsed of its own contradictions and a new birth of freedom, sanctified by blood, created the United States we know today. His story has been told many times, but never by a man who himself sought the office of president and contemplated the awesome responsibilities that come with it.

George S. McGovern--a Midwesterner, former U.S. senator, presidential candidate, veteran, and historian by training--offers his unique insight into our sixteenth president. He shows how Lincoln sometimes went astray, particularly in his restrictions on civil liberties, but also how he adjusted his sights and transformed the Civil War from a political dispute to a moral crusade. McGovern's account reminds us why we hold Lincoln in such esteem and why he remains the standard by which all of his successors are measured.

Read More
PublisherTimes Books
Publication Date2008-12-23
EditionFirst Edition
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs
George S. McGovern, born in 1922, was a distinguished American historian, author, U.S. Representative, U.S. Senator, and the Democratic Party presidential nominee in the 1972 Presidential Election. Born to a humble family in South Dakota, he skillfully balanced his rural roots with high academic achievements, earning his Ph.D. in history from Northwestern University. McGovern's tenacity resulted in his recognition as an astute historian known for his groundbreaking research and erudition in American history. During his political career, McGovern was celebrated as a prominent advocate for liberal ideals. Known for his outspoken opposition to the Vietnam War, he is remembered for both his commitment to social justice and his dedication to policies tackling hunger and poverty. The McGovern-Dole International Food for Education and Child Nutrition Program, which he co-created, has played a significant role in combating global hunger. Additionally, as an author, McGovern penned several poignant works. His noted books include "The Great Coalfield War" and "The Third Freedom: Ending Hunger in Our Time", blending his historical knowledge with his passion for social causes. McGovern left an enduring legacy through his impactful endeavors in academics, politics, and literature.

More Books in the American Presidents Series

More Books in the Former US Presidents Collection

You May Also Like


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Abraham Lincoln: The American Presidents Series: The 16th President, 1861-1865”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *