• Send us your used books for 15% off future orders. Learn more
  • Free shipping on orders over $50
  • Join the Black & Barhe Rewards Program and start earning today. Join now
Witch of Wild Things

Witch of Wild Things

$17.00

Book Overview: Witch of Wild Things

Legend goes that long ago a Flores woman offended the old gods, and their family was cursed as a result. Now, every woman born to the family has a touch of magic.

Sage Flores has been running from her family--and their "gifts"--ever since her younger sister Sky died. Eight years later, Sage reluctantly returns to her hometown. Like slipping into an old, comforting sweater, Sage takes back her job at Cranberry Rose Company and uses her ability to communicate with plants to discover unusual heritage specimens in the surrounding lands.

What should be a simple task is complicated by her partner in botany sleuthing: Tennessee Reyes. He broke her heart in high school, and she never fully recovered. Working together is reminding her of all their past tender, genuine moments--and new feelings for this mature sexy man are starting to take root in her heart.

With rare plants to find, a dead sister who keeps bringing her coffee, and another sister whose anger fills the sky with lightning, Sage doesn't have time for romance. But being with Tenn is like standing in the middle of a field on the cusp of a summer thunderstorm--supercharged and inevitable.

Read More
ISBN-13
ISBN-10
Publisher
Publication Date
Edition
Language
Pages
Dimensionsin x in x in
Weight lbs

"In her magical, beautiful adult debut, Witch of Wild Things, Raquel Vasquez Gilliland absolutely mesmerizes with a richly woven story encompassing family, friendship, and romantic love. The tenderness between Sage and Tennessee truly captured my heart. Perfect for fans of Lisa Kleypas and yet at the same time gorgeously unique, this earthy and luminous book will leave readers spellbound." --India Holton, national bestselling author of The League of Gentlewomen Witches

"Witch of Wild Things is such a beautiful story of family, friendship, and falling in love. I mean, an anonymous AIM chat relationship from high school, with the boy on the other end now all grown up into a tattooed, plant-loving man? Sisters with a thorny, complicated relationship in need of nourishing? A woman who doesn't see herself as the special, rare flower she is . . . until she does? Raquel Vasquez Gilliland's adult debut is everything I love about romance!" --Alicia Thompson, national bestselling author of Love in the Time of Serial Killers

"Raquel Vasquez Gilliland's adult debut is spooky, sexy and magical. Witch of Wild Things is a perfect mix of magical realism and swoony romance, with a fair amount of family drama and love. You'll fall in love with the Flores sisters in this cozy, wonderful novel."-- Elissa Sussman, bestselling author of Funny You Should Ask

"Witch of Wild Things is a flawless gem. Raquel Vasquez Gilliland's prose is by turns seamless and striking; her storytelling is vulnerable and full of soul. As a Mexican-American, reading this novel felt like coming home--it was a song my heart never knew it needed to hear." --Isabel Cañas, author of The Hacienda

"Every page sparkles with magic, family, and the lush beauty of wild things."-- Sangu Mandanna, author of The Very Irregular Society of Witches

"You could cut the tension here with a knife, or should we say, a pair of gardening shears." --Good Housekeeping

"A solid, fun novel, full of magic, romance, and characters you can follow along with and root for."-- Red Carpet Crash

"Gilliland's adult fiction debut is a beautifully written, entrancing novel that is a must-buy for all collections." -- Library Journal (starred review)

"Gilliland mixes magical realism, sisterhood, and, of course, love into a sparkling romance that will sweep readers off their feet."-- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"In a touching and sweet story about moving on from a haunting past, award-winning Mexican American poet, artist, and novelist Gilliland weaves together a complex tale of loss and new beginnings that still manages to be a fun and captivating romance." --Booklist

"Transportive and bursting with heart, Witch of Wild Things is a tender masterpiece of magical realism." --BookPage

Raquel Vasquez Gilliland is a poet, novelist, and artist of Mexican-American descent who weaves together intricate tales with a blend of magical realism and profound insight. She was born and raised in southern Texas, where her bi-cultural experiences have significantly influenced both her life and her writing. A graduate of the esteemed MFA program at the University of Alaska, Anchorage, Gilliland offers a unique literary perspective deeply embedded in her rich cultural background and higher education. In her outstanding career, Gilliland has authored several compelling works, with her debut young adult novel, "Sia Martinez and the Moonlit Beginning of Everything", making waves in the literary world for its breathtaking prose and riveting narrative. Gilliland’s poetry, too, has gained widespread acclaim - her collection, "Dirt and Honey", winning the 2018 Green Rose Prize in Poetry. Her writing style showcases powerful emotions, creating unforgettable characters and narratives that resonate long after the final page. Aside from being a prolific author, Gilliland is also an accomplished painter and potter, her visual artistry presenting another medium through which she expresses her thoughts and experiences. As an artist, her focus remains primarily on realism and portraiture, further exploring the depth and complexity of human experiences. Each aspect of Gilliland's work—whether that be writing, painting, or pottery—reflects her deep passion for storytelling, making her a truly multitalented and influential figure in the creative arts.

Related Subjects

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Witch of Wild Things”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *